Cato Networks Knowledge Base

Managing Sockets

Overview

This article describes these features that help you manage Cato Sockets that are configured for your account:

  • Use the Cato Management Application (or Socket WebUI) to unassign a Socket from one site, and then assign it to a different one

  • Changing the Socket password from the Socket WebUI

  • Using the Socket reset button to:

    • Reset the Socket password

    • Unassign the Socket from the site

Assigning and Unassigning Cato Sockets to a Site

You can use the Cato Management Application to assign and unassign Sockets for a site. This feature can be helpful to replace a Socket, or move a Socket from one site to a different one.

After you unassign a Socket, it is automatically reset to factory default settings. When you assign a Socket to a site, the Cato Management Application pushes the settings to the Socket and overwrites any manual configurations.

To unassign a Socket from a site:

  1. From the navigation menu, click Network > Sites, and select the site with the Socket you are unassigning.

  2. From the navigation menu, click Site Settings > Socket.

    unassign.png
  3. From the Actions menu of the site you are unassigning, select Unassign.

    A warning window opens.

  4. Click OK.

    The Socket is unassigned from the site. The account receives a new Notification to activate a new Socket.

To assign a socket to a site:

  1. Click the notification icon notification.png.

  2. In the Notifications panel, click Activate New Socket.

    The message shows the serial number (S/N) for each available Socket.

  3. Click Accept.

    The Assign Socket to a Site window opens.

  4. From the drop-down menu select the site for the Socket.

  5. Click Continue.

    The Socket is added to the site.

Unassigning a Socket Using the Socket WebUI

After using the Cato Management Application to unassign a Socket, if you can't assign the Socket to a different site, use the Socket WebUI reset the Socket settings. This forces the Socket to erase all the settings and configurations. The Socket remains at the same hardware version.

Supported from Socket v15 and higher.

Note

Note: Only unassign the Socket with the Socket WebUI after performing the unassign action using the Cato Management Application (shown above).

 

Changing the Socket Password

You can change the password for the Socket from the Socket WebUI.

The password policy for Cato Sockets is that you must change the password every 90 days. After 90 days, the password expires and the login window for the Socket WebUI prompts you to authenticate and enter a new password. The new password can't be the same as the previous three passwords.

To change the Socket password from the Socket WebUI:

  1. From the navigation menu, click Network > Sites and select the site.

  2. From the navigation menu, click Site Settings > Socket.

  3. From the Actions menu of the socket, select Socket WebUI.

    The browser opens a new tab and logs in to the Socket WebUI.

  4. From the menu bar, select Administration.

  5. In the Administrator Password section, enter the current and new password.

  6. Click Confirm. The Socket password is changed.

Resetting the Admin Password and Unassigning a Socket

You can use the Socket reset button to perform these actions on the physical Socket:

  • Reset the admin password to the factory default password (admin), which has no impact on the network traffic

  • Unassign the Socket from the site and reset the Socket settings

You must have physical access to the Socket to perform these reset actions. Make sure to press and hold the reset button for the reset actions, instead of repeatedly pressing the button.

Note

Note: The reset button is immediately to the right of the power connection. You need to use a paper clip and push the button inside the hole marked F/D.

These actions are supported for X1500 Sockets and additional support for X1700 Sockets is coming soon.

To reset the admin password on the Socket:

  • Press and hold the reset button for about 10 seconds. The password is reset to the default value: admin.

To unassign a Socket from the site:

  • Press and hold the reset button for about 30 seconds. The Socket is unassigned from the site and all the settings and configurations erased.

    The Socket remains at the same hardware version.

Was this article helpful?

3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

1 comment

Please sign in to leave a comment.