Cato Networks Knowledge Base

Configuring the Client Upgrade Policy

This article explains how to manage the upgrade policy for the Windows and macOS Cato Clients when there is a new version.

Overview of the Cato Client Upgrade Policy

The upgrade policy is applied to all the Windows and macOS Clients for users in your account. The Client receives the upgrade policy settings when it is connected to the Cato Cloud. This means that the first time that you install the Client on a device, it only receives the upgrade settings after it connects to the Cato Cloud.

Choose one of the following policies for updates to the Clients:

  • Automatic Silent Upgrade - The end user can't control the Client installation, and it is automatically upgraded to the newest version. When the Client is upgrading, a notification is shown to the end user and explains that during the upgrade, the Client disconnects from the Cato Cloud and then reconnects after the upgrade is complete.

    • For macOS Clients, the OS opens a window and requires the end user to authenticate to the computer to install the new Client version.

  • User Upgrade - When a new Client update is available, the end user receives a notification. They can choose to install the new Client immediately or at a later time. A reminder notification is shown every 12 hours.

  • Managed Upgrade - For companies that use MDM (Mobile Device Management) solutions, this option lets admins control all upgrades from the MDM. The end users don't receive any notifications from Cato.

Note

Notes:

  • The Upgrade Policy settings are supported for:

    • Windows Clients version 4.4. and higher

    • macOS Clients version 5.0 and higher

  • Users do NOT need admin permissions on the computer to upgrade the Windows Client

  • For Windows Clients, the Automatic Silent Upgrade and Managed Upgrade options, the Client requires access to the %TEMP% directory for the local user

  • A restrictive GPO policy may block the installation of the Cato Adapter during the installation or upgrade process of the Cato Client. To ensure the Client upgrades successfully, allow the GPO policy to permit the installation of the Cato Adapter.

Checking for a New Version

After the Client connects to the Cato Cloud for the first time, these are the conditions for the Client to check for a new version:

  • Windows Clients

    • The computer is powered on and connected to the Internet

  • macOS Clients

    • The user is logged in to the computer

    • The Client app is open and running, but it isn't required to be connected to the Cato Cloud

Preparing to Implement Client Upgrade Policy for macOS v5.0

For the macOS Client Upgrade policy, the participating end users need to update their Clients to version 5.0. This version isn't available on the macOS App Store, and the initial upgrade to this version will need to be done via an MDM or downloaded from the Cato Cato User Portal.

You will be able to automatically update end-users to new versions according to the settings of your Client Upgrade policy.

Configuring the Cato Client Upgrade Policy

Select the upgrade option for Windows and macOS Clients in your account.

To configure the Cato Client upgrade policy:

  1. From the navigation menu, click Access > Client Access.

  2. Expand the Upgrade Policy section and select one of the available options.

  3. Click Save.

Defining First Upgraded Users

The Automatic Silent Upgrade and User Upgrade policies use the Cato upgrade service to deploy the new Client version to SDP users. When a new Client version is available, it is gradually rolled out to the users in your account. Cato continually monitors the new versions to quickly identify any issues.

You can choose to begin the upgrade with a number of initial users in your account. Starting with the next version that Cato releases, these are the first users to automatically upgrade their Clients.

You can review the behavior of the new Client version for the specified users. After a few days, the upgrade rollout continues with other SDP users. A notification is shown in the Cato Management Application when the rollout starts for the initial users.

You can define up to 100 initial users. We recommend that you verify that each of these users has a valid SDP license.

Upgrade_Test_Users.png

To define the first upgrade users for Automatic Silent Upgrade and User Upgrade:

  1. From the navigation menu, click Access > Client Access.

  2. In the Upgrade Policy section, make sure that Automatic Silent Upgrade or User Upgrade is selected.

  3. In the First Upgraded Users section, click the Search or Select SDP User drop-down menu.

  4. Enter the name or select the users.

  5. Click Save. The first upgrade users are saved for your account.

Sample Upgrade Workflows for Users

This section shows sample workflows of the user experience for each of the upgrade options.

Sample Automatic Silent Upgrade Workflow

  1. A new version of the Cato Client is released.

  2. The user logs in to the computer and opens the Cato Client.

  3. The Cato Client automatically downloads the new version and then installs the new version.

    The user is disconnected from the secure tunnel during the upgrade.

    For Windows, the installation file is downloaded to the %TEMP% directory.

  4. When the installation is completed, the Client behavior is:

    • For Windows - the end user can start the updated Cato Client

    • For macOS - the Client automatically restarts and if the Client was connected to the secure tunnel before the upgrade process, it then reconnects

Sample User Upgrade Workflow

  1. A new version of the Cato Client is released.

  2. The user logs in to the computer and opens the Cato Client.

  3. The user sees a notification in the Cato Client that there is a new version.

  4. The user can choose to download and install the new version, or continue using the older version.

  5. If the user doesn't install the new version, the Cato Client periodically shows reminders to the user that a new version is available.

    Users can also choose upgrade at any time and click Upgrade Now in the About section of the Client.

Sample Managed Upgrade Workflow

  1. A new version of the Cato Client is released.

  2. The admin chooses when to use the MDM to push the new Cato Client version to the users.

  3. The user logs in to the computer and opens the Cato Client.

  4. The new version is installed and the Client behavior is:

    • For Windows - the end user can start the updated Cato Client

    • For macOS - the Client automatically restarts and if the Client was connected to the secure tunnel before the upgrade process, it then reconnects

Was this article helpful?

3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

1 comment

Please sign in to leave a comment.