Cato Networks Knowledge Base

Best Practices for Cato Windows and macOS Client Upgrades

  • Updated

This article discusses best practices to manage the Client upgrades for Windows and macOS devices in your account.

Overview of Upgrading Clients

Cato regularly deploys new versions of the Client that contain the latest features and enhancements. You can use the Cato upgrade service to automatically and seamlessly push new Client versions to the devices. For accounts that use a third-party software to manage devices, you can choose when to deploy the new Clients version to the devices.

For more information, see Client Lifecycle Management.

Gradual Client Roll-out for the Cato Upgrade Service

For accounts that use the Cato upgrade service to upgrade Windows and macOS Clients in their account, the Cato upgrade service gradually rolls-out the new version to accounts. The goal of gradual roll-out is to provide the best end-user experience for remote devices. Cato continually monitors the new Client versions and can quickly stop deploying the new version, remediate any issues and then continue the roll-out with a new Client that includes the necessary fixes.

Cato has several roll-out phases which occur over the time period of a few weeks. Each customer account is assigned to one of the phases, and within a phase, the new version is also gradually deployed. So the SDP users within an account are gradually upgraded to minimize any negative impacts of the Client upgrade.

Best Practices for Upgrading Clients with the Cato Upgrade Service

For accounts that use the Cato upgrade service, these are the options for the upgrade behavior when Cato releases a new Client version :

  • Automatic Silent Upgrade - the device automatically downloads and installs the newest Client version. Alternatively, the

  • User Upgrade - The SDP users see a notification that a new Client version is available and decides when to start the upgrade process on the device.

Working with First Upgrade Users

To help you review the behavior of the new Client version within your environment, you can identify specific users to be the first within your organization to receive the update. When a new Client version is available, these are the first users to automatically upgrade their Clients. After you enable the First Upgrade User feature, it is implemented for your account when the Clients are upgraded to the next version.

After a few days, the upgrade rollout continues with other SDP users. A notification is shown in the Cato Management Application when the rollout starts for the initial users.

For more information, see Configuring the Client Upgrade Policy.

Best Practices for Upgrading Clients with Third-Party Software (MDM or GPO)

  • New Client versions are announced in the Product Release Notes

  • You can download the newest version of the Client from the Client download portal and distribute it to the SDP users using the third-party software

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.